0
Cart: €0.00

EU-Richtlinie (IVD)

neoLab - IVD-Verordnung

 EU regulation concerning  zu IN-VITRO DIAGNOSTICS

In-vitro diagnostics (IVD) have been regulated by the European guideline 98/79/EG (IVDD) since the year 1998. The new IVD regulation was published on 05.05.2017 and replaces the previous IVDD since 26.05.2017. neoLab Migge GmbH will present to you the most important changes below.

 


What are in-vitro diagnostics?

In-vitro diagnostics are medical products, typically laboratory devices, that are intended by the manufacturer for special diagnostics of samples from the human body. 

What must be considered?

The aim of the new IVDR is to revise the previous IVDD. The IVDR is considered a regulatory basis for the market intro-
duction of in-vitro diagnostics (IVD) and their accessories. 

Which deadlines are in place?

A transitional period for approved in-vitro diagnostics is in place until May 26th, 2022. Manufacturers may request an extension of this deadline by 2 years.

What are IVD products

In-vitro diagnostics are medical products that serve for in-vitro analysis of samples stemming from the human body. This includes i.e. blood, tissue, saliva and urine samples. IVD enables information concerning:

  • + physiological or pathogenic processes or conditions
  • + congenital bodily or mental impairments
  • + predisposition for a specific health condition or a specific disease
  • + to determine the harmlessness and tolerability for potential recipients
  • + the expected effect of a treatment or the predicted reactions
  • + the determination or supervision of therapeutic measures Sample containers are considered IVD.

IVDR and the most important changes

The aim of the new IVDR is to remedy the weaknesses of the previous IVDD (98/79/EG) which have arisen over time. The IVDR thereby acts as regulatory basis for bringing in-vitro diagnostics (IVD) into circulation, their introduction to the market, and their implementation. The EU regulation is legally binding in all EU- and EFTA member states since 26.05.2017.

An overview over the most important changes to the IVDR:

Expansion of the product scope
The previous scope according to IVDD has been expanded significantly. Genetic testing, IVD for diagnostic purposes and other tests supplying information regarding a specific disease of the patient or the effect of a treatment are considered IVD. Among other things products with a high risk, which are produced and used within a single healthcare facility are considered IVD.

Risk-based classification system
The IVDR requires clinical studies regarding performance and proof, that the safety of the products is appropriate. Additionally the manufacturers of a continuous assessment of the potential safety risks must collect and store clinical data.


Requirements for clinical assessments
The IVDR requires clinical studies regarding performance and proof, that the safety of the products is appropriate. Additionally the manufacturers of a continuous assessment of the potential safety risks must collect and store clinical data.

 

Requirements for documentation
The technical documentation is listed in a clear, organized, easily searchable clear manner. These concern themselves with product descriptions, specifications, including the variants and accessories, and the technical documentation of the supervision upon bringing the IVD into circulation.

 

Monitoring through designated entities
With the exception of IVD class A involvement of designated entities is required. The verification of the IVD according to IVDD previously amounted to approx. 15% of all IVD distributed on the market. With the IVDR taking effect the involvement of designated entities is increased to at least 70%. Additionally stricter requirements are introduced for the naming and supervision of the designated entities.

 

Allocation of unique product numbers
By means of a system for product recognition through unique product numbers (UDI-System – Unique Device Identification system) the traceability of products after bringing them into circulation shall be increased notably. This leads to improved reporting in case of incidents, focused safety correction measures and better supervision through the responsible entities.


Designation of a  “qualified person“
Through the designation of at least one “qualified Person“ the compliance to the regulations and requirements for the manufacturers of medical products shall be guaranteed. The organization must prove, that the person is appropriately qualified for the demanded tasks.

No grandfathering of approved IVD
The IVD distributed on the market and certified by IVDD do not receive grandfathering and require a certification according to IVDR. A legal transitional period up to 26.05.2022 was defined, in which the certification must be successful.

 


Transitional periods for manufacturers

A transitional period until May 26th, 2022 is in place for already approved in-vitro diagnostics (IVD) in order to adapt products to the new requirements of the IVDR. Products from manufacturers, which have already been certified by a designated entity (present and valid certificate according to IVDD as well as no major product changes), may be marketed for another 2 years before proving this certification according to IVDR.


Additional information concerning the EU guideline (IVD)

The new EU regulation concerning in-vitro diagnostics @TÜV-Süd - Here for the overview.pdf >>

Official MDR-Webseit of the EU - Link >>

ebsite: TÜV SÜD - What should I keep in mind concerning the topic IVD? - Link >>

0
Cart: 0,00 €

EU-Richtlinie (IVD)

neoLab - IVD-Verordnung

 EU-Verordnung zu IN-VITRO-DIAGNOSTIKA

In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) sind seit dem Jahr 1998 durch die europäischen Richtlinie 98/79/EG (IVDD) geregelt. Die neue IVD-Verordnung wurde am 05.05.2017 veröffentlich und ersetzt die bisherige IVDD seit dem 26.05.2017. Die neoLab Migge GmbH stellt im Folgenden die wichtigsten Änderung für Sie dar. 

Was sind In-vitro-Diagnostika?

In-vitro-Diagnostika sind Medizinprodukte, typischerweise Laborgeräte, die vom Hersteller zur speziellen Diagnose von oder aus dem menschlichen Körper stammende Proben konzipiert sind. 

Was muss beachtet werden?

Ziel der neuen IVDR ist die Überarbeitung der bisherigen IVDD (98/79/EG). Die IVDR gilt als regulatorische Grundlage für die Markeeinführung von In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) und deren Zubehör. 

Welche Fristen gibt es?

Für zugelassene In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) gilt eine Übergangsfrist bis zum 26. Mai 2022. Hersteller können unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen jedoch noch eine Verlängerung dieser Frist um weitere 2 Jahre beantragen.

Was versteht man unter IVD-Produkten

In-vitro-Diagnostika sind Medizinprodukte, die vom Hersteller zur In-vitro-Untersuchung aus dem menschlichen Körper stammenden Proben dient. Hierzu zählen u.A. Blut-, Gewebe-, Speichel- und Urinproben. Die IVD ermöglichen Informationen zu:

  • + physiologischer bzw. pathogener Prozesse oder Zustände
  • + kongenitale körperliche oder geistige Beeinträchtigungen
  • + Prädisposition für einen bestimmten gesundheitlichen Zustand oder eine bestimmte Krankheit
  • + zur Feststellung der Unbedenklichkeit und Verträglichkeit bei den potenziellen Empfängern
  • + über die voraussichtliche Wirkung einer Behandlung oder die voraussichtlichen Reaktionen
  • + zur Festlegung oder Überwachung therapeutischer Maßnahmen
    Probenbehältnisse gelten als IVD. 
Noch mehr Videos? neoLab Youtube-Kanal >>

IVDR und die wichtigsten Änderungen

Ziel der neuen IVDR ist es die über die Zeit entstandenen Schwächen der bisherigen IVDD (98/79/EG) zu beheben. Die IVDR gilt somit als regulatorische Grundlage für das Inverkehrbringen, die Bereitstellung auf dem Markt und Inbetriebnahme von In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) und deren Zubehör. Rechtskräftig ist die EU-Verordnung seit dem 26.05.2017 in allen EU- und EFTA-Mitgliedsstaaten.

Die wichtigsten Änderungen der IVDR im Überblick:

Erweiterung des Produktgeltungsbereich
Der bisherige Geltungsbereich nach IVDD wurde stark erweitert. Genetische Untersuchungen, IVD für diagnostische Zwecke und andere Tests, die Informationen über eine bestimmte Krankheit des Patienten oder die Wirkung einer Behandlung informieren gelten als IVD. Unter Anderem gelten Produkte mit einem hohen Risiko, die in einer einzigen Gesundheitseinrichtung hergestellt und verwendet werden als IVD.

Risikobasiertes Klassifizierungssystem
Das IVDR führt ein Klassifizierungssystem basierend auf den Risikoregeln nach den Grundsätzen der GHTF (Globalen Arbeitsgruppe für Harmonisierung) ein. Die Klassifizierung erfolgt in vier Risikoklassen von A bis D. Die Risikoklasse A stellt ein geringes Risiko für den Patienten dar, hingegen die Klasse D das höchste Risiko für Patienten und Öffentlichkeit aufweist. Die Einteilung erfolgt nach definierten Regeln.

Anforderungen an klinische Bewertungen
Die IVDR fordert klinische Studien zur Leistung und den Nachweis, dass die Sicherheit der Produkte angemessen ist. Zusätzlich müssen die Hersteller einer fortlaufenden Bewertung der potenziellen Sicherheitsrisiken klinische Daten sammeln und aufbewahren.

Anforderungen an die Dokumentation
Die technische Dokumentation wird in klarer, organisierter, leicht durchsuchbarer eindeutiger Form aufgeführt. Diese beschäftigen sich mit der Produktbeschreibung, Spezifikation, einschließlich der Varianten bzw. Zubehörteile und der technischen Dokumentation der Überwachung nach dem Inverkehrbringen der IVD.

Überwachung durch Benannte Stellen
Mit Ausnahme der IVD der Klasse A ist das Mitwirken Benannter Stellen erforderlich. Die Überprüfung der IVD nach IVDD betrug bisher ca. 15 % aller auf dem Markt vertriebenen IVD. Mit dem in Kraft treten der IVDR wird das Mitwirken von Bekannten Stellen auf mind. 70 % angehoben. Zusätzlich werden strengere Anforderungen für die Benennung und Überwachung der Bekannten Stellen eingeführt.

Vergabe von einmaligen Produktnummern
Anhand eines Systems zur Produktkennung durch einmalige Produktnummern (UDI-System – Unique Device Identification system), soll die Rückverfolgbarkeit für Produkte nach dem Inverkehrbringen deutlich verbessern. Dies führt auf eine bessere Berichterstattung bei Vorkommnissen, gezielte Sicherheitskorrekturmaßnahmen und eine bessere Überwachung durch die zuständigen Behörden.

Benennung einer „qualifizierten Person“
Durch die Benennung mind. einer „qualifizierten Person“ soll die Einhaltung der Rechtsvorschriften und Anforderungen beim Hersteller von Medizinprodukten gewährleistet werden. Die Organisation muss nachweisen, dass diese Person für die geforderten Aufgaben entsprechend qualifiziert ist.

Kein Bestandsschutz von zugelassenen IVD
Die auf dem Markt vertrieben, nach IVDD zertifizierten IVD erhalten keinen Bestandsschutz und benötigen eine Zertifizierung nach IVDR. Es wurde eine gesetzliche Übergangsfrist bis zum 26.05.2022 definiert, in der die Zertifizierung erfolgt sein muss.


Übergangsfristen für Hersteller

Für bereits zugelassene In-vitro-Diagnostika (IVD) gilt eine Übergangsfrist bis zum 26. Mai 2022, um ihre Produkte an die neuen Vorgaben der IVDR anzupassen. Produkte von Herstellern, die bereits von einer Benannten Stelle zertifiziert sind, dürfen nach bestimmten Kriterien (vorhandenes und gültiges Zertifikat nach IVDD sowie keine wesentlichen Produktänderungen)  weitere 2 Jahre vermarktet werden, bevor diese eine Zertifizierung nach IVDR nachweisen müssen. 


Weiterführende Informationen zur EU-Verordnung (IVD)

Überblick zur neue EU-Verordnung (IVDR) vom TÜV-Süd - Download >>

Offizielle MDR-Website der europäischen Union - Weblink >>

Weiterführende Informationen zur Umstellung (TÜV-Süd) - Weblink >>